71.9 F
New York
Monday, May 23, 2022

Mottley slashes Cabinet under new gov’t | Caribbean

Barbados Prime Minister Mia Mottley has announced a new 20-member Cabinet.

This is a big cut from her previous 26-member Cabinet.

Mottley last week led the Barbados Labour Party to a second consecutive sweep of all 30 seats in the Parliament.

In the meantime, she has offered two seats in the Senate to the opposition parties.

On Monday, Mottley also revealed plans to amend the constitution to allow for the appointment of 18-year-old Khaleel Kothdiwala as the island’s youngest senator.

And for the first time, Mottley named a deputy prime minister, Santia Bradshaw.

“We face simply too many critical challenges for us to continue with business as usual,” said Mottley, unveiling her new development agenda ‘Our Barbados, Owning Our Future’.

She said while there would be need for “constructive engagement” debates should be in the cause of advancing the nation not merely to add to the discussions and the noise, nor to sow division.

New Barbados Executive:

  • Mia Mottley – Prime Minister, Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs with responsibility for Culture, Security, Public Service, CARICOM and Development Commissions.
  • Santia Bradshaw –Deputy Prime Minister, Senior Minister, Minister of Transport, Works and Water Resources.
  • Dale Marshall-Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Senior Minister, Governance.
  • Kerrie Symmonds – Minister of Energy and Business Development, Senior Minister.
  • Jerome Walcott – Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade, Senior Minister, Social and Environmental Policy.
  • Wilfred Abrahams – Minister of Home Affairs and Information.
  • Indar Weir – Minister of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Security.
  • Ian Gooding Edghill – Minister of Health and Wellness.
  • Lisa Cummins – Minister of Tourism and International Transport.
  • Kay McConney – Minister of Education, Technological and Vocational Training.
  • Dwight Sutherland – Minister of Housing, lands and Maintenance.
  • Kirk Humphrey – Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs.
  • Adrian Forde – Minister of the Environment and National Beautification and Blue Economy.
  • Colin Jordan – Minister of Labour, Social Security and Third Sector.
  • Davidson Ishmael – Minister of Industry, Innovation, Science and Technology.
  • Charles Griffith – Minister of Youth, Sports and Community Empowerment.
  • Ryan Straughn –Minister in the Ministry of Finance and economic Development.
  • Chantal Munroe Knight – Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister.
  • Sonia Browne – Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Wellness.
  • Sandra Husbands – Minister of State in the Ministry of Foreign Trade and Ministry of Business Development.
  • Dr. Romel Springer – Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Transport, Works and Water Resources with responsibility for Water Resources.
  • Corey Lane – Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs.

Follow The Gleaner on Twitter and Instagram @JamaicaGleaner and on Facebook @GleanerJamaica. Send us a message on WhatsApp at 1-876-499-0169 or email us at onlinefeedback@gleanerjm.com or editors@gleanerjm.com


Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

18 − ten =

Latest Articles