52.6 F
New York
Saturday, October 1, 2022

11th Punjab CM who couldn’t complete term : The Tribune India

Jupinderjit Singh

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, September 18

Since Punjab’s reorganisation in 1966, Capt Amarinder Singh is the 11th Chief Minister who has failed to complete the full term in office.

Giani Gurmukh Singh Musafir of the Congress had remained the CM for 127 days from November 1, 1966, to March 8, 1967.

His successor Gurnam Singh of the Akali Dal-Sant Fateh Singh group was the CM for 262 days. The next CM, Lachhman Singh Gill of the Punjab Janta Party, was in saddle for 272 days. His resignation led to the President’s rule in the state.

Gurnam Singh returned as CM on February 17, 1969, and held the high office for one year and 38 days. He had to leave due to rebellion in the SAD. On March 27, 1970,

Parkash Singh Badal took over from him, but remained the CM for one year and 79 days only. He reportedly resigned due to party’s poor performance in the Lok Sabha polls. The President’s rule that followed lasted for 277 days.

The next CM, Giani Zail Singh of the Congress who later became the President, lasted for full term, but his successor Parkash Singh Badal occupied the post for two years and 242 days.

The state again came under the President’s rule for 110 days after which Congress CM Darbara Singh lasted three years and 122 days. After another President’s rule for one year and 358 days, Surjit Singh Barnala of the SAD took over as the CM. But he couldn’t continue for more than one year and 255 days.

The next CM Beant Singh of the Congress was assassinated. His tenure lasted for three years and 187 days. His successor Harcharan Singh Brar was the CM for one year and 82 days. After he resigned, the first woman CM of the state Rajinder Kaur Bhattal of the Congress assumed charge. She could retain the post for 82 days.

Bringing stability for the next two decades, Parkash Singh Badal completed three full terms from 1997-2002 and 2007-17. Later, Capt Amarinder also completed one full term (2002-07). With his resignation today, his tenure ended after four years and 185 days.


Related Articles

Latest Articles